The Civil Marriage Collaborative is an innovative grantmaking initiative designed to strengthen and build a state-by-state movement for the freedom to marry for same-gender couples in the United States.

The Civil Marriage Collaborative partners with foundations and individual donors to award approximately $2 million each year to support broadly defined public education efforts, such as research, polling, message development and delivery, alliance building, outreach and advocacy in support of the freedom to marry. Since its founding in 2004, Civil Marriage Collaborative has invested more than $18 million in jurisdictions that now have marriage equality as well as in other key states working toward this critical social justice goal.

Nineteen states, plus the District of Columbia, now legally recognize marriage equality while several other states have had marriage bans struck down by the courts pending higher court review.

Same Sex Marriage in the United States
(as of July 1, 2014)

English (en):  Legal status of same-sex partnerships in the United States1
   Same-sex marriage legal2
   Domestic partnerships or civil unions granting at least some privileges similar to marriage for same-sex domestic partners
   No prohibition nor recognition of same-sex marriage or unions in territory law
   Judicial ruling against ban on same-sex marriage stayed indefinitely pending appeal3
   Judicial ruling against a ban on recognizing out-of-state same-sex marriages stayed indefinitely pending appeal
   Same-sex marriage banned4

1 The federal government recognizes all legally performed same-sex marriages, regardless of the current state of residence; but not other same-sex unions. Native American tribal jurisdictions have laws pertaining to same-sex marriage independent of state law.
2 Some states in this category also allow other same-sex unions.
3 Many states in these categories either ban unions similar to marriage or have judicial rulings against bans on unions similar to marriage.

CMC in the News »